Tiger Dreams: The S. Asian Diaspora in the West

Tiger in Ouwehands Zoo, Rhenen, The Netherland...

Tiger in Ouwehands Zoo, Rhenen, The Netherlands. Taken in spring 2005. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I was asked to write a guest post for The Serious Reader. I thought about my parents’ generation and how they sacrificed their close-knit connections in India and Pakistan to find opportunity in the West, fifty and sixty years ago as young adults. I have grown up seeing the costs of that sacrifice and also the benefits for second- and third-generation children like me. It’s something I come back to often in my writing, particularly in The Purana Qila Stories. I hope you get a chance to visit The Serious Reader and read about the wave of emigration that brought my family and many others to western shores.

2 thoughts on “Tiger Dreams: The S. Asian Diaspora in the West

Leave a Reply

